VIRGINIA STATEWIDE FIRE PREVENTION CODE INSPECTION AND PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE

The fire official is authorized to inspect all structures and premises annually for the purpose of ascertaining and causing to be corrected any conditions liable to cause fire, contribute to the spread of fire, interfere with firefighting operations, endanger life or property, or to determine any violations of the provisions or intent of the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code.

Violations of the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code are a Class 1 Misdemeanor. If convicted, Class 1 Misdemeanors are punishable of up to a \$2,500 fine and/or 12 months in jail.

In accordance with Section 27-97 of the Code of Virginia, fees may be levied by the local governing body in order to defray the cost of enforcement and appeals under the Statewide Fire Prevention Code.

The local governing body may establish a fee schedule. The schedule shall incorporate unit rates, which may be based on square footage, cubic footage, estimated cost of inspection or other appropriate criteria.

A permit shall not be issued until the designated fees have been paid.

The fire official may require notification prior to (i) activities involving the handling, storage or use of substances, materials or devices regulated by the Statewide Fire Prevention Code; (ii) conducting processes which produce conditions hazardous to life or property; or (iii) establishing a place of assembly.

Each business has an identified business classification and is subject to an inspection within a range of every one to five years. Depending upon this business classification, or if there are identified fire and/or life safety hazards, the business may be inspected more frequently than others.

Fire Code Inspection and Operational permits are required by the fire official in accordance with the following table. The initial inspection fee shall include the initial inspection and 1 re-inspection. Additional re-inspections for non-compliance with the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code will be an additional \$50 per re-inspection/per-hour.

	Section 1 – Detailed Operational Permit Requirements							
	Code Reference	DESCRIPTION	PERMIT REQUIRED (yes or no)	PERMIT FEE	INSPECTION FEE			
1	5101.2	Aerosol products. An operational permit is required to manufacture, store or handle an aggregate quantity of Level 2 or Level 3 aerosol products in excess of 500 pounds net weight.	Yes	\$50.00	Based on Use Group			
2	107.2	Amusement Buildings. An operational permit is required to operate a special amusement building.	Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart			
3	2001.3	Aviation Facilities. An operational permit is required to use Group H or Group S occupancy for aircraft servicing or repair and aircraft fuel-servicing vehicles. Additional permits required by other sections of this code include, but are not limited to, hot work, hazardous materials and flammable or combustible finishes.	Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart			
4	3103.4	Carnivals and fairs. An operational permit is required to conduct a carnival or fair.	Yes	\$50.00	Based on the number of rides			

5	107.2	Cellulose nitrate film. An operational permit is required or use cellulose nitrate film in a Group A occupancy.	d to store, handle	Yes	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
9	2201.2	Combustible dust-producing operations. An operational permit is required to operate a grain elevator, flour starch mill, feed mill, or plant pulverizing aluminum, coal, cocoa, magnesium, spices or sugar, or other operations producing combustible dusts as defined in Chapter 2.		Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart
7	5201.3	Combustible fibers. An operational permit is required for handling of combustible fibers in quantities greater than 10 Exception: An operational permit is not required for agric	00 cubic feet.	Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart
8	5301.2	Compressed gas. An operational permit is required for or handling at normal temperature and pressure (NTP gases in excess of the amounts listed below. Exception: Vehicles equipped for and using compressed propelling the vehicle.) of compressed			
		PERMIT AMOUNTS FOR COMPRESSED GAS	ES			
		TYPE OF GAS	AMOUNT (cubic feet at NTP)	Yes	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
		Corrosive	200			Group
		Flammable (except cryogenic fluids and liquefied petroleum gases)	200			
		Highly toxic	Any Amount			
		Inert and simple asphyxiant	6,000			
		Oxidizing (including oxygen)	504			
		Toxic	Any Amount			
9	107.2	 Covered mall buildings. An operational permit is require The placement of retail fixtures and displays, concession displays of highly combustible goods and similar items The display of liquid-fired or gas-fired equipment in the The use of open-flame or flame-producing equipment in 	on equipment, in the mall. mall.	Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart
10	5501.2	Cryogenic fluids. An operational permit is required to transport on site, use, handle, or dispense cryogenic fluid amounts listed below. Exception: Operational permits are not required for vehicand using cryogenic fluids as a fuel for propelling the refrigerating the lading. PERMIT AMOUNTS FOR CRYOGENIC GA TYPE OF CRYOGENIC FLUID INSIDE BUILDING (grammable More than 1 lnert 60 Oxidizing (includes oxygen) 10 Physical or health hazard not indicated above Any Amount	s in excess of the cicles equipped for the vehicle or for SES OUTSIDE BUILDING	Yes	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
11	3501.2	Cutting and welding. An operational permit is required or welding operations within the jurisdiction.	to conduct cutting	Yes	\$50.00	N/A
12	2101.2	Dry cleaning plants. An operational permit is required business of dry cleaning or change to a more hazardous used in existing dry cleaning equipment.		Yes	\$50.00	See square footage chart
13	107.2	Exhibits and trade shows. An operational permit is re exhibits and trade shows.	quired to operate	Yes	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
					•	•

14	5601.2	Explosives, fireworks and pyrotechnics. An operational permit is required for the manufacture, storage, handling, sale or use of any quantity of explosive, explosive materials, fireworks, pyrotechnic special effects, or pyrotechnic special effects material within the scope of Chapter 56. Exceptions: 1. Storage in Group R-3 or R-5 occupancies of smokeless propellant, black powder and small arms primers for personal use, not for resale and in accordance with the quantity limitations and conditions set forth in Section 5601.1, exception numbers four and twelve. 2. Permits shall not be required for storage of explosives or blasting agents by the Virginia State Police provided a listing of all storage locations within the Town of Abingdon is provided.	Yes			
		Storage of explosives and blasting agents	Yes	\$150 per m	nagazine per year	
		Use of explosives and blasting agents	Yes	\$250 per s	te	
		Sell explosives and blasting agents	Yes \$200 per year		ear	
		Manufacture explosives, blasting agents and fireworks	Yes	\$250 per y	\$250 per site \$200 per year \$250 per year \$350 per eventa \$250 per eventa \$250 per eventa \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00 \$50.00	
		Indoor fireworks, pyrotechnics or proximate audience displays	Yes	\$150 per magazine per year \$250 per site \$200 per year \$250 per year \$350 per eventa \$250 per eventa \$550 per eventa \$550.00 \$50.00		
		Outdoor fireworks, pyrotechnics or proximate audience displays	Yes	\$250 per e	vent ^a	
15	107.2	Fire hydrants and valves. An operational permit is required to use or operate fire hydrants or valves intended for fire suppression purposes that are installed on water systems and accessible to a fire apparatus access road that is open to or generally used by the public. Exception: An operational permit is not required for authorized employees of the water company that supplies the system or the fire department to use or operate fire hydrants or valves.	NO			
		Flammable and combustible liquids: An operational permit is required: 1. To use or operate a pipeline for the transportation within facilities of flammable or combustible liquids. This requirement shall not apply to the offsite transportation in pipelines regulated by the Department of Transportation (DOTn) nor does it apply to piping systems.	NO			
		 To store, handle or use Class I liquids in excess of 5 gallons in a building or in excess of 10 gallons outside of a building, except that a permit is not required for the following: The storage or use of Class I liquids in the fuel tank of a motor vehicle, aircraft, motorboat power plant or mobile heating plant, unless such storage, in the opinion of the fire official, would cause an unsafe condition. The storage or use of paints, oils, varnishes or similar flammable mixtures when such liquids are stored for maintenance, painting or similar purposes for a period of not more than 30 days. 	YES	\$50.00		
16	5701.4	3. To store, handle or use Class II or IIIA liquids in excess of 25 gallons in a building or in excess of 60 gallons outside a building, except for fuel oil used in connection with oil-burning equipment.	YES	\$50.00		
		4. To remove Class I or Class II liquids from an underground storage tank used for fueling motor vehicles by any means other than the approved, stationary on-site pumps normally used for dispensing purposes.	YES	\$50.00		
		5. To operate tank vehicles, equipment, tanks, plants, terminals, wells, fuel dispensing stations, refineries, distilleries and similar facilities where flammable and combustible liquids are produced, processed, transported, stored, dispensed or used.	es _{VES}			
		6. To install, alter, remove, abandon, place temporarily out of service (for more than 90 days) or otherwise dispose of an underground, protected above-ground or above-ground flammable or combustible liquid tank.	From Building Department			
		7. To change the type of contents stored in a flammable or combustible liquid to material that poses a greater hazard than that for which the tank was designed and constructed.	YES	\$50.00		
		8. To manufacture, process, blend, or refine flammable or combustible liquids.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart	

17	107.2		onal permit is required for floor finishing or ing 350 square feet using Class I or Class II	YES	\$50.00	N/A
18	2501.2		n operational permit is required to operate a or conduct a fruit-ripening process using	YES	\$50.00	N/A
19	2601.2	required to operate a busine	ecticidal fogging. An operational permit is so of fumigation or thermal insecticidal om, vault or chamber in which a toxic or	YES	\$50.00	N/A
20	5001.5		perational permit is required to store, use or handle hazardous materials in excess	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
		PERMIT AMOUNT	S FOR HAZARDOUS MATERIALS			
		TYPE OF MATERIAL	AMOUNT			
		Combustible liquids	See flammable and combustible liquids			
		Corrosive materials	·			
		Gases	See compressed gases 55 Gallons			
		Liquids Solids	1000 pounds			
		Explosive materials	See explosives			
		Flammable materials	·			
		Gases	See compressed gases			
		Liquids Solids	See flammable and combustible liquids			
		Class 2	100 pounds 10 gallons			
		Class 1	55 gallons			
		Solids	_			
		Class 4	Any amount			
		Class 3 Class 2	10 gallons ^b 100 gallons			
		Class 1	500 gallons			
		Organic peroxides	300 g			
		Liquids				
		Class I Class II	Any amount			
		Class III	Any amount 1 gallon			
		Class IV	2 gallons			
		Class V	No permit required			
		Solids	Any amount			
		Class I Class II	Any amount Any amount			
		Class III	10 pounds			
		Class IV	20 pounds	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use
		Class V	No permit required		70000	Group
		Pyrophoric materials Gases	See compressed gases			
		Liquids	Any amount			
		Solids	Any amount			
		Toxic materials	Con compressed			
		Gases Liquids	See compressed gases 10 gallons			
		Solids	100 pounds			
		Unstable (reactive) materials				
		Liquids Class 4	Any amount			
		Class 4 Class 3	Any amount Any amount			
		Class 2	5 gallons			
		Class 1	10 gallons			
		Solids	Any amount			
		Class 4 Class 3	Any amount Any amount			
		Class 2	50 gallons			
		Class 1	100 gallons			
		Water reactive materials	A 21/22 - 11/24			
		Class 3 Class 2	Any amount 5 gallons			
		Class 1	55 gallons			
		Solids				
		Class 3	Any amount			
		Class 2 Class 1	50 pounds 500 pounds			
		a. Twenty gallons when Table 5003.	1.1(1) Note k applies and hazard identification signs in			
		accordance with Section 5003.5 a	re provided for quantities of 20 gallons or less.			
			5003.1.1(1) Note k applies and hazard identification signs			
	Ì	in accordance with Section 5003.5	are provided for quantities of 200 pounds or less.		1	

21	2701.5	HPM facilities. An operational permit is required to store, handle or use hazardous production materials.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
22	3201.2	High piled storage. An operational permit is required to use a building or portion thereof as a high-piled storage area exceeding 500 square feet.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
23	3501.2	 Hot work operations. An operational permit is required for hot work including, but not limited to: Public exhibitions and demonstrations where hot work is conducted. Use of portable hot work equipment inside a structure.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
24	3001.2	Industrial ovens. An operational permit is required for operation of industrial ovens regulated by Chapter 30.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
25	2801.2	Lumber yards and woodworking plants. An operational permit is required for the storage or processing of lumber exceeding 100,000 board feet (8,333 ft ³).	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
26	107.2	Liquid-fueled or gas-fueled vehicles or equipment in assembly buildings. An operational permit is required to display, operate or demonstrate liquid-fueled or gas-fueled vehicles or equipment in assembly buildings.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
27	6101.2	LP-gas. An operational permit is required for: 1. Storage and use of LP-gas. Exception: An operational permit is not required for individual containers with a 500-gallon water capacity or less or multiple container systems having an aggregate quantity not exceeding 500 gallons, serving occupancies in Group R- 3. 2. Operation of cargo tankers that transport LP-gas.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
28	5901.2	Magnesium. An operational permit is required to melt, cast, heat treat or grind more than 10 pounds of magnesium.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
29	107.2	Miscellaneous combustible storage: An operational permit is required to store in any building or upon any premises in excess of 2,500 cubic feet gross volume of combustible empty packing cases, boxes, barrels or similar containers, rubber tires, rubber, cork or similar combustible material.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
30	307.2	Open burning. An operational permit is required for the kindling or maintaining of an open fire or a fire on any public street, alley, road, or other public or private ground. Instructions and stipulations of the permit shall be adhered to. Exception: Recreational fires.	YES	\$50.00 ^b	N/A
31	308.2	Open flames and candles. An operational permit is required to use open flames or candles in connection with assembly areas, dining areas of restaurants or drinking establishments.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
32	308.2	Open flames and torches. An operational permit is required to remove paint with a torch; or to use a torch or open-flame device in a wildfire risk area.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
33	2901.2	Organic coatings. An operational permit is required for any organic-coating manufacturing operation producing more than 1 gallon of an organic coating in one day.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart

34	107.2	Places of assembly. An operational permit is required to operate a place of assembly.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
		Private fire hydrants. An operational permit is required for the removal from service, use or operation of private fire hydrants.			
35	107.2	Exception: An operational permit is not required for private industry with trained maintenance personnel, private fire brigade or fire departments to maintain, test and use private hydrants.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
36	107.2	Pyrotechnic special effects material. An operational permit is required for use and handling of pyrotechnic special effects material.	Yes	\$300 per event ^a	
37	6501.2	Pyroxylin plastics. An operational permit is required for storage or handling of more than 25 pounds of cellulose nitrate (proxylin) plastics and for the assembly or manufacture of articles involving pyroxylin plastics.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
38	107.2	Refrigeration equipment. An operational permit is required to operate a mechanical refrigeration unit or system regulated by Chapter 6.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
39	2301.2	Repair garages and service stations. An operational permit is required for operation of repair garages and automotive, marine and fleet service stations.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
40	2001.3	Rooftop heliports. An operational permit is required for the operation of a roof top heliport.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
41	2401.3	Spraying and dipping. An operational permit is required to conduct a spraying or dipping operation utilizing flammable or combustible liquids or the application of combustible powders regulated by Chapter 24.	YES	\$50.00	Based on Use Group
42	3201.2	Storage of scrap tires and tire byproducts. An operational permit is required to establish, conduct or maintain storage of scrap tires and tire byproducts that exceeds 2,500 cubic feet of total volume of scrap tires and for indoor storage of tires and tire byproducts.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
43	3103.4	Temporary membrane structures and tents. An operational permit is required to operate an air-supported temporary membrane structure or a tent. Exceptions: 1. Tents used exclusively for recreational camping purposes. 2. Tents and air-supported structures that cover an area of 900 square feet or less, including all connecting areas or spaces with a common means of egress or entrance and with an occupant load of 50 or less persons.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
44	3201.2	Tire-rebuilding plants. An operational permit is required for the operation and maintenance of a tire-rebuilding plant.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
45	107.2	Waste handling. An operational permit is required for the operation of wrecking yards, junk yards and waste material-handling facilities.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
46	2801.2	Wood products. An operational permit is required to store ships, hogged material, lumber or plywood in excess of 200 cubic feet.	YES	\$50.00	See square footage chart
		Section 2 – Plan Review Fees			
47	404	Fire safety and evacuation: Plan review.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
48	3201.2	Fire safety and evacuation: Plan review for high-piled combustible storage areas in excess of 500 square feet.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
49	407	Hazard communication: Hazardous material management plan review.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
50	5001.6	Hazardous material facility closure: Plan review	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
51	901.2	Fire protection systems: Plan review.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
52	1004	Occupant load: Plan review.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
53	403	Special event-public safety: Plan review for indoor and outdoor assemblages (over 50 persons).	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour
54	6109	Site installation: LP-gas cylinder exchange program.	YES	\$50.00	N/A
55	403.10.1	Covered mall annual lease: Plan review.	NO	N/A	\$50.00 per hour

		Section 3 – Inspection and Re-inspection Fee	S
56	202	Assembly Group A (More than 50 occupants and/or more than 750 square feet)	See square footage chart
57	202	Business Group B	See square footage chart
58	202	Educational Group E	See square footage chart
59	202	Factory Industrial Group F	See square footage chart
60	202	High-hazard Group H	See square footage chart
61	202	Institutional Group I – Assisted Living Facilities, Adult and Child Care Facilities (Based on Virginia Department of Social Services licensed capacity)	\$50.00 for 1 to 10 \$75.00 for 11 to 30 \$100.00 for 31 to 60 \$125.00 for 61 to 90 \$150.00 for 91 to 120 \$175.00 for 121 to 150 \$200.00 for 151 to 200 \$250.00 for 201 or more
62	202	Institutional Group I – Hospitals and Correctional Facilities (Based on the number of patient beds)	\$50.00 for 1 to 10 beds \$100.00 for 11 to 50 beds \$150.00 for 51 to 100 beds \$200.00 for 101 – 150 beds \$250.00 for 151 – 200 beds \$300.00 plus \$50.00 for each additional 100 beds where the number exceeds 200
63	202	Mercantile Group M	See square footage chart
64	202	Residential Group R – Hotels, Motels, Bed and Breakfasts, College Dormitories	\$50.00 for 1 to 10 beds \$75.00 for 11 to 50 beds \$100.00 for 51 to 100 beds \$125.00 for 101 – 150 beds \$150.00 for 151 – 200 beds \$175.00 plus \$50.00 for each additional 100 beds where the number exceeds 200
65	202	Residential Group R – State Regulated Care Facilities (Based on Virginia Department of Social Services)	\$25.00
66	202	Storage Group S	See square footage chart
67	202	Miscellaneous Group U	See square footage chart
68	403	Special events: Indoor or outdoor assemblages (over 50 persons)	See square footage chart
69	109.1	Re-inspections: (Follow-up inspections when previously identified violation(s) are found <u>not</u> to be in compliance	\$50.00 per re-inspection/per hour

Note a – If an application is received less than 15 days prior to the planned event, the permit fee shall be \$550.00. If an application is

received less than seven days prior to the planned event, the permit fee shall be \$650.00.

Note b – If an application for an open burning permit is received less than 15 days prior to the planned event, the permit fee shall be \$100.00. If an application for an open burning permit is received less than 7 days prior to the planned event, the permit fee shall be \$150.00.

SQUARE FOOTAGE CHART					
0 – 999 Square Feet	\$25.00	20,001 – 50,000 Square Feet	\$225.00		
1,000 – 5,000 Square Feet	\$75.00	50,001 – 100,000 Square Feet	\$275.00		
5,001 – 10,000 Square Feet	\$100.00	100,001 – 200,000 Square Feet	\$325.00		
10,001 – 20,000 Square Feet	\$125.00	Greater than 200,001 Square Feet	\$375.00		